X-MEN ’97: Why It’s Worth the Hype

Fiyinfoluwa Ibraheem
9 min readMay 21, 2024

--

To me, my X-Men

I’m writing about an animation? I know it’s strange, but yes, I am. I am not really the type to trust my ability to review movies, but I think it would be strange for me not to have a paroxysm about something that I have loved since childhood. This is not philosophical or stuff (strange, you might say), but this is from my heart.

Of course, there are important lessons to be learnt from Beau DeMayo’s masterpiece, but this isn’t about the subtle knowledge ingrained in the movie. This is simply a paroxysm (might write an article on that later, but for now, let’s just have fun).

The original X-Men The animated series, which is popularly referred to as X-Men '92, that aired between 1992 and 1997 was one that heavily shaped my childhood. From the theme song to the roster of characters, everything just felt like the best thing that could ever have happened. I was born much later, after the whole series initially aired, but I still got to watch it. Funny enough, I haven’t watched X-Men Evolution even till this moment, which is more tuned to my existence, but I did watch a bit of Wolverine and the X-Men.

When I got the news that there would be a continuation of the series on Disney+, I was hyper-hyped. I can still remember the burst of emotions when I initially watched the trailer and heard the theme song. A dam had been broken. I almost cried. “We are so back. I will be there no matter what,” I remember telling myself. The reminiscence made me intensely desire the clear mindedness and comfort of my childhood, and this prompted me to watch the original series all over again. Watching the original series has also made me realise how much better the new series is.

{Theme music playing}

I really don’t know many people who actually watched the original series. I can still remember talking about it while in secondary school with no one actively recalling the series, and when I also tried to preach ’97’s gospel to my roommate, he wasn’t so interested, and he obviously didn’t watch the original series.

The new series managed to capture the essence of the original series while not being encumbered by the antiquity of the past. It heavily draws its following from the nostalgia of the initial series but has proven itself not only as a connection with a good past but as an excellently planned and sequenced visual and narrative masterpiece. I think it was also wise to make X-Men ’97 a continuation of the original X-Men: The Animated Series rather than just making it a reboot.

X-Men ’97 has proven itself to the global audience. It has a 99% on the tomatometer and is also rated 9/10 on IMDb.

X-Men 97’ toyed with my emotions the way no daughter of Adam has ever done. The urge to somehow be able to watch the next episode was so intense. Thirty minutes wasn’t just enough to tame the appetite for what was being served. The unexpected story twists and arcs (at least to a not really comic-based fan) were mind-blowing and emotion-racking. If only I could transfer such interests to my academics. Sigh.

Now, how do I feel about the characters?

Wolverine

For those who have watched ’97, it would seem strange to start with Wolverine considering his unusually relegated role in this first season. Regardless, Logan is still my favourite X-Men character, and I have six reasons why I should start with him.

The six reasons why I can do whatever I want

“It’s adamantium tasting time, boys,” I would say, mimicking Wolverine’s guttural voice. I would have writing pens placed between my fingers except in between the thumb on both hands to make them stick out when I made my hands into a fist. An attempt to have Wolverine’s claws. Good times. That was one of my favourite lines in the original series. I would have loved it to be used in ’97.

Wolverine, in the original series, on his way to give some Sentinels a taste of adamantium

Many people online supported the reduced importance given to Wolverine throughout the season. I don’t really have a problem with that, but I think there is a probability for him to get a more prominent role next season after Magneto ripped out the adamantium from his bones. The simultaneous feeling of hatred for Magnus and pain for Wolverine watching that scene. I was really distraught after watching that. I can’t wait for Wolverine to be in good health again.

Magneto doing the evil deed
Magneto did the evil deed
Wolverine recuperating. Hopefully I don't catch Magneto on the streets.

I don’t really understand what’s going on between Wolverine and Morph. I have read different things on the internet, but I think I’m comfortable with him making up a triangle with Scott and Jean.

Cyclops and Jean

A projection of Scott and Jean speaking to Cable

The two most prominent X-Men throughout the season. I really like what the story did with Cyke and Jean. We really got to see them as powerful mutants, and they got the respect they deserved. X-Men ’97 confirmed why Cyclops is the leader of the X-Men. You’d just have known that Cyke would be getting a major upgrade after the first episode, when he solely used his concussive beams to land after the plane crash. His battle with Bastion was similarly thrilling.

Cyclops battling Bastion

Jean Grey, the powerful telekinetic, was finally seen. She was finally portrayed as an asset to the team and not a liability. The original series didn’t really portray Jean as a powerful mutant, with the minute exception of when she was the Phoenix. She literally falls exhausted after every use of her power. It was quite annoying. Then, I used to wonder whatever it was that Mr. Sinister saw in Jean and Cyclops, but now I know. I love Jean’s fight scene with Prime Sentinel Trask, and also the one with Mr. Sinister. We finally saw her as the powerful mutant she deserves to be, and the same was true of Scott.

Jean thrashing Mr. Sinister

We also got to see them as a family, with Cable also in the mix. Let’s go, the Summers.

The Summers

Gambit and Rogue

Rogue cradling Gambit's lifeless body

I was immensely hurt by the death of the Cajun. I’m sure a tear or two almost slipped from my eyes when Rogue was crying over his corpse. Seeing the Godzilla Sentinel stab him was like being doused with a bucket of cold water. His sacrifice was so honourable considering his past and what he thinks about himself. The later discussion between Xavier and Rogue about Gambit was one of my favourite dialogues in the show. I’m tempted to go over that discussion, but that’s enough. No philosophising today; maybe later.

Gambit’s death was mind-wrenching. Writing about it now still makes me sad. I do wish Rogue had treated him better before he died rather than moving with that “egg-suckin' piece of gutter trash!” (in Logan’s voice), Magnus.

Gambit, moments before death

My sister and I usually joke with two lines from Gambit in the original series. “The name is Gambit; remember it” and “Everyone can relax; Gambit has returned.” After watching his death, I sent the clip to my sister as a tribute to the one who gave us jokes to laugh about. His last words were, "The name is Gambit, Mon Ami. Remember it.” That was such a wonderful thing to be done by the makers. I do hope that he is somehow revived later in the series.

Respects for Gambit

Rogue had quite a tumultuous time. With Magneto coming into the picture and also with the death of Gambit. Her character embodies how terrible emotional pain can be. I felt so sorry for her. Her going berserk after Gambit’s death and her cries, especially when she cried like a child into Nightcrawler’s chest, were heart-touching.

Rogue wailing over Gambit's death

Xavier and Magneto

Shots fired by Magneto

Xavier left his X-Men for Lilandra. Finished man. (Just a joke, though.) Professor Xavier in the original series and in most X-Men adaptations is usually portrayed as a man with wisdom and whose decision-making is usually the best. I like how in ’97, Xavier’s decisions as regards giving Magnus charge of the X-Men and eloping with Lilandra were not actually the best thing to do. I like how Cyclops confronted him and spoke to him regarding those decisions. It kind of mirrors society. When we were much younger, we viewed the decisions of our parents and those older than us as quite perfect, but later we found out they weren’t as perfect as we might have thought, and they had their flaws. I’m drifting again. Let’s get back to what matters.

Magneto, despite my intense dislike for him since ripping out Logan’s adamantium, went through a lot. He did try to be a better man. He did want to be the man that Xavier would have wanted. He tried to ensure mutant-human peaceful coexistence. Storm initially happened, then Genosha happened. It is quite understandable that he would go off the deep end, as we also see with Rogue. (Though I’m disappointed that she left the X-Men for him.)

Magneto speaking to Xavier

I can’t imagine the pain Magnus would have felt when Leech died just in front of him after he promised him that no harm would befall him. It’s understandable that he would say, “Never again.”

We got to see his more humane side in his relationship with Rogue, but with the state of things, I don’t think that would be a frequent sight.

Other characters were also top-notch. I like Storm’s story’s arc. The costume change was also great. Jubilee was more of an X-Man than an X-baby, and that was nice to see. I wish we got to see more of the father-daughter relationship between her and Wolverine. I really liked her response to Sunspot after he hit her on Asteroid M, and I liked that she got to fight Bastion and that her powers were portrayed as not just being the fourth of July. Her development showed she was not only the kid Jubilation Lee we used to know but an X-Man who could hold her ground.

Jubilee facing Bastion

The initial costume designs from the original series were cool, and the latter ones were equally great. I can’t really say there is an aspect of X-Men ’97 that I do not like. The storyline, animation, costume, voicing, and sequence were so apt. This should be the best animation of the year. And the music was just wow. Especially at the ball in Genosha preceding the attack.

I also really loved the Oppenheimer allusion.

Trask acting like who he is not

It’s weird that there won’t be a new episode on Wednesday. I do hope the new season rolls out soon, because I’m already there.

No more X-Men '97 for now. Why???

If you haven’t watched X-Men ’97, you should probably check it out.

Thanks for hanging around till the end of my not-so-rational but emotional discussion.

--

--

Fiyinfoluwa Ibraheem

Curious about the world and the knowledge therein. A promiscuous reader with the belief that all knowledge is connected.